Acknowledgement of Country:

COORDINARE acknowledges that Aboriginal people are the First People of this country and pay respect to their Elders past, present and emerging and acknowledge their continuing connections to their ancestral lands.

COORDINARE is not qualified to determine nor define the boundaries of Traditional Lands and understands the sophisticated and complex relationships of Aboriginal people and the land. We understand that within the organisation’s 50,000+ km2 geographic footprint are large areas of the Traditional Lands of:

  • Yuin Nation – from the Shoalhaven River down to Eden and out to Braidwood, including the towns of Nowra and Moruya
  • Dharawal Nation – the area across southern Sydney down to the Illawarra Shoalhaven region and west to Moss Vale, encompassing Bass Point, Helensburgh and Wollongong
  • Ngunnawal/Ngambri Nations – Queanbeyan, Yass, Gunning and north to the Goulburn region
  • Ngarigo Nation – the Monaro Snowy Mountains region down to the Victorian border, including the NSW towns of Cooma
    and Delegate
  • Gundungurra Nation – includes Goulburn, Crookwell, Southern Highlands and across to the Blue Mountains

A note about language

Language carries history and creates meaning. At COORDINARE, the term ‘Aboriginal’ is generally used in preference to ‘Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander,’ in recognition that Aboriginal peoples are the original inhabitants of South Eastern NSW.